Pharmaceutics Special Guest Mei He Seminar

Mei He Seminar AnnouncementMei He, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering, Bioengineering Program, Department of Chemistry, University of Kansas

Will Present at 1:30-2:30 p.m. on May 31, 2019 in Communicore C1-11.  Seminar Title: Extracellular Vesicles: Coding the Cellular Message for Precision Immunotherapy








Mei He has extensive expertise in nanodelivery, tissue engineering, biomaterials, and cancer biology. She has worked at the University of Kansas Cancer Center as the Senior Scientist from 2012 to 2014 and studied extracellular vesicles involved in tumor pathogenesis. She started my independent career in 2015 and my research has been focused on understanding immunity non-contact cell-to-cell communications mediated by extracellular vesicles, via leveraging cutting-edge microfluidics, 3D bioprinting, and nanotechnology. Mei He is also the founder of Clara Biotech Inc. She has been granted eight patents which were licensed by the BioRad and other companies. Her work has been recognized by the institutional Academic Excellence Award 2015, New Faculty Mentoring Award 2017, Innovator Award from the Kansas Ingenuity Central Exhibition, and New Faculty Research Award in 2018. Her most recent two publications in the journal of Lab Chip for studying diagnostic and therapeutic roles of exosomes have been selected as the Most Download Articles of 2016, Inside Cover Story, the Most Accessed Articles, and the Featured Cover Story of 2018 by the Royal Society of Chemistry. One of her publications also received the 2018 SLAS Technology Readers Choice Award. She is the founder committee of the MidWest 3D technology society, the Councilor of the American Electrophoresis Society (AES), the Vice Chair of the ASABE Biosensor program, and serving for various panel reviews, including DOD, USDA, NSF, and Health Research for Oak Ridge Associated Universities. She also frequently serves the ASME MSEC Session Chair, AIChE Session Chair, SCIX AES Session Chair, and Poster Award Committee for MicroTAS (The Chemical and Biological Microsystems Society, CBMS).